DCN Inspirational Award – DCN recognizes Elizabeth Ohree for her loyalty and friendship over the years


Elizabeth Ohree, a retired educator. I met her back in the late 90’s when I joined the Rocky Mount NAACP and also through the Edgecombe County Democratic Party.

Ms. Ohree has always supported me however I guess that was the school teacher in her. She is one of my top most faithful folks who I have much respect for.

Ms. Ohree taught school in Nash County and is an alumni of Winston Salem State University. She has two children who are school teachers in the local area and a granddaughter who is in her second year of college. She loves her family.

Ms. Ohree has always treated me with much respect and always thanked me for the work I do with the NAACP, the Democratic Party, other community organizations and especially the work I do through Dancy Communications Network educating folks about what is going on around them. She always ask me when do I get some sleep, and how do I keep all of that information in my head. She tells me all the time that her daughter says my little old head is going to burst with all that information I have inside.

Ms. Ohree has always opened her door for me to come in and not only share information with her but others in the community. She has supported whatever I did within the NAACP and the Democratic Party because she knew that I always do my homework.

Ms. Ohree knows that everything comes with a price and she has always donated to Dancy Communications Network although I tried not to accept it. She reminds me of this elderly man whom has gone on to be with the Lord whom I cooked and videoed for his family over the years during their time of bereavement and I tried not to accept anything but he said that I was keeping him from receiving his blessing by giving to me. So therefore I deal with elderly people with all that wisdom very carefully and I try to respect them to the upmost.

Thank you Ms. Ohree for being there for me over the years because it was you who kept me on the battlefield when I wanted to give up. We have had some experiences within the NAACP and the Democratic Party but we made it. I tried to do all I could to make your role easy when you served as an officer within both organizations. You welcomed me as a young man and kept me encouraged to do my homework and because of you I have much knowledge when it comes to the NAACP and the Democratic Party.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.