White People & The Persistence Of Culture – The American Conservative


Response: I have always thought some folks just didn’t get it. The average white folks work on the same jobs that black folks does but think they are better than black folks but make the same money. But these white folks can get credit moreso than black folks or should I say the white folks get better rates. But at the end of the day the average white folks and black folks are on the same level. Poor!

Reader Floridian2006 comments on the In The Big White Ghetto thread:

I think one of the factors in the perpetuation of white poverty is the corollary to the “acting white” attitude within segments of the black community. I would call it “acting middle class.”

I see it even in some members of my extended family — an anti-intellectualism that rejects many aspects of formal education and expert advice, an anti-establishment attitude that is exhibited in a “nobody is going to tell me what to do” attitude that makes it hard to hold an entry level job and then rise, a narcissism that leads to opting for tattoos and another firearm rather than a college fund for your children, as well as other dysfunctions such as wearing a Harley Davidson t-shirt to a job interview. (Source)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.