Video: OFC Community Information & Prayer Group/COVID-19 Update – Guest: Mr. Cornell Wright (NCDHHS) February 22, 2022 5:00 PM

Watch – Video

Topic: COVID-19 & More

Time: This is a recurring meeting (Every other Tuesday) February 22, 2022 5:00 PM

Guest/s:

Cornell P. Wright MPA Executive Director DHHS Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities

There may be atleast 1 or more guests to participate.

Participate Live Via Zoom Meeting

Click On Zoom Video

Meeting ID: 853 5938 4483 Passcode: 279960

Free Conference Call Audio:

701-801-6982 (Passcode not needed)

Dial by your location

301-715-8592 US (Washington DC)

Meeting ID: 853 5938 4483 Passcode: 279960

Participate in a live Q&A session.

Hosts/Moderator: Pastor Malcom E. Lewis Anderson Chapel MBC Macclesfield NC/St. Stephens MBC Goldsboro NC

OFC is Our Father’s Children founded by Pastor Malcom E. Lewis during the time of the 2020 COVID-19 Pandemic.

Donations Can Be Made Here

Click On Photo To Learn More
Cornell Wright

image

Some Church Folk I Believe Don’t Have Anybody To Talk To So They Go To Church To Be Heard And Seen

I have attended several Church services and the Spirit be in the place. But then you have grown folk sometimes even the Pastor will take the Spirit out of the place.

It is sad when Church folk don’t see that they need to sit down and shut up and let the Spirit flow.

When you have children doing things on the program and they do a great job you don’t come back behind them with mess that takes the Spirit out of the church.

I have seen some Pastors preach behind speakers like an Usher Anniversary, Women’s Day, Men’s Day and other that did a great job and the Spirit was high.

I have a problem with this especially when I am videoing an event. When I am not I will get up and leave because I have come to the conclusion that some folk don’t have anybody to talk to, dress up, go to church to be seen and heard and then back home to look at themselves in a video and/or listen to the audio.

About The DCN

The DCN News Blog Online TV is Your Alternative News Source. I Curmilus Butch Dancy II operate out of pocket as I travel Edgecombe County but not limited to documenting the News and Events via Video and Photos. Videos are documented on a DVD and/or Livestreamed on Facebook and also on Youtube. Photos are documented on Facebook and a Flash Drive that can be taken to Walmart, Walgreen or somewhere that Photos can be developed. If documented on a DVD it may be available within 24 hours however Livestreamed documents are just that live unless WI-FI is an issue so therefore may have to be uploaded to Social Media shortly after the Event.

Donations are accepted.

I am Curmilus Butch Dancy II a Community and Political Activist since the late 80’s. I have put in the time and resources by serving as an Edgecombe County Democratic Party Precinct Vice Chair, currently a Precinct Chair, served as the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair, served on the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee since the late 80’s. I currently serve on NC State Democratic Party Executive Committee. I have attended political meetings and continue to attend political meetings across the county but not limited to. Not only have I attended them but have videoed them.

Mask Mandate Go Right Ahead!

I look at this noise about the mask mandate especially in the schools. Folk talking about the teachers need to be able to see the children’s expressions on their face. They say the children can’t learn with their mask on.

I am going to continue to wear my mask and I will wait to see how it turns out with folk going mask less.

I am going to remember.

About The DCN

The DCN News Blog Online TV is Your Alternative News Source. I Curmilus Butch Dancy II operate out of pocket as I travel Edgecombe County but not limited to documenting the News and Events via Video and Photos. Videos are documented on a DVD and/or Livestreamed on Facebook and also on Youtube. Photos are documented on Facebook and a Flash Drive that can be taken to Walmart, Walgreen or somewhere that Photos can be developed. If documented on a DVD it may be available within 24 hours however Livestreamed documents are just that live unless WI-FI is an issue so therefore may have to be uploaded to Social Media shortly after the Event.

Donations are accepted.

I am Curmilus Butch Dancy II a Community and Political Activist since the late 80’s. I have put in the time and resources by serving as an Edgecombe County Democratic Party Precinct Vice Chair, currently a Precinct Chair, served as the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair, served on the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee since the late 80’s. I currently serve on NC State Democratic Party Executive Committee. I have attended political meetings and continue to attend political meetings across the county but not limited to. Not only have I attended them but have videoed them.

My Day Off But I Never Have A Day Off Because It Is Always Work To Be Done

I was off today for my day, President’s Day! LOL!

I used 1 of my Floating Holidays. I have been writing since around 7 AM this morning.

I have published 4 Blog Posts. After talking to some folk during the day I have come up with some other stuff that folk need to be reminded of asap. I am going to take a break and come back later.

About The DCN

The DCN News Blog Online TV is Your Alternative News Source. I Curmilus Butch Dancy II operate out of pocket as I travel Edgecombe County but not limited to documenting the News and Events via Video and Photos. Videos are documented on a DVD and/or Livestreamed on Facebook and also on Youtube. Photos are documented on Facebook and a Flash Drive that can be taken to Walmart, Walgreen or somewhere that Photos can be developed. If documented on a DVD it may be available within 24 hours however Livestreamed documents are just that live unless WI-FI is an issue so therefore may have to be uploaded to Social Media shortly after the Event.

Donations are accepted.

I am Curmilus Butch Dancy II a Community and Political Activist since the late 80’s. I have put in the time and resources by serving as an Edgecombe County Democratic Party Precinct Vice Chair, currently a Precinct Chair, served as the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair, served on the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee since the late 80’s. I currently serve on NC State Democratic Party Executive Committee. I have attended political meetings and continue to attend political meetings across the county but not limited to. Not only have I attended them but have videoed them.

First Black woman to serve as US Capitol Police officer is a Rocky Mount native

The DCN News Blog Online TV response: Thank you Theresa Alston Stokes for sharing the Black History moment about Ms. Johnson. So glad the TV picked up on it. I look forward to meeting her very soon.

The first woman and the first Black woman to serve as a US Capitol Police officer was Arva Johnson, a Rocky Mount native who broke the department’s gender barrier in the 1970s.

Johnson says she became a trailblazer by accident, chalking up her ability to overcome the difficulties she faced to her early years in eastern North Carolina.

Johnson told WRAL News she remembers the Rocky Mount of the 1950s and 60s.

Growing up in a house on South Church Street, the quiet and reserved community became the lens she saw the world through.

“It was a little small city,” Johnson said. “Everywhere we had to go, we had to walk, like to school, to the grocery store, everything was kind of close in.”
After graduating from then-Booker T. Washington High School in 1971, Johnson made her way up I-95 to the big city: Washington DC.

Following three years of searching for a career, Johnson’s cousin called one day with the news that would change her life: the US Capitol police force was hiring for officers.

“Growing up in North Carolina, I always wanted to be in uniform,” Johnson said. “So they called, and they hired me to come to work October 15, 1974. I was 24 years old.”

Johnson became the first woman and the first Black woman to serve as a US Capitol Police officer. (Read more)

Condolences Goes Out To Deborah Pittman Coley & The Entire Family Of The Late Cleopatra "Cleo" Hardy Pittman Rocky Mount NC

Condolences goes out to Deborah Pittman Coley and the entire family of the late Cleopatra “Cleo” Hardy Pittman Rocky Mount NC.

Visit Hunter Odom Funeral Home Inc. for more information.

I had the opportunity to meet the wonderful lady when I videoed Deborah’s wedding.

In Response To Lindell John Kay On WNCR TV Host Bronson Williams & Co-host Nehemiah Smith About His Articles In The Rocky Mount Telegram & Now Spring Hope Enterprise

I have not watched what you used to be “News You Can Use” that turned out for me “News You Can’t Use.” When I tried to talk to them about the format I ended up being a topic of discussion for an entire week and some. That part!

Today February 21, 2022 I had to look at the show after not looking at it since back around October 2021 and I was receiving so many responses about the show.

First of all Lindell Kay and myself have had some disagreements and will probably continue to. However we have a good relationship that we can agree to disagree. When I read his article in the paper, I texted him and said but I heard the building didn’t collapse. He said what happened. I said no comment. That was the end of that.

Lindell is right on point because I agree he has exposed social media pages like Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens for who they really are. He said when he does a story on Rocky Mount Councilman Andre Knight these pages especially Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens is all about him but when he does a story on the Mayor, they don’t talk about that part. Oh but them pages ain’t racist though.

I agree with Lindell Kay if they are so concerned why they have not been concerned about what is good for all of Rocky Mount and talking about White folk. He said he was a part of the group when it first started to see what they were saying but he has long left the group. He said all he sees is them attacking folk. I say Black folk.

Lindell Kay says it is a lot of racist content on Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens.

Lindell Kay exposed the Rocky Mount Telegram about them making an agreement about not putting crime on the front the page before he arrived. He talked about Jeff Herrin former deceased editor being beholden to the powers to be.

See what Lindell Kay had to say about Rochelle Small-Toney removing the City ads from the Rocky Mount Telegram.

Lindell Kay learned that those white folk who were complimenting him on what he was writing about, they didn’t care about him, they only cared about him writing about certain people and we all know that was Black people.

Lindell Kay talked about how no mention on Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens about Tarrick Pittman’s rent issues and the Mayor appointed him to the Housing Authority.

Damn Tarrick being a great person to serve on the Housing Authority? Really! How in the hell do you support a person who does not want to pay rent on buildings to house his business and then blame it on the building being the problem because he says it is not in renting condition. Well why in the hell didn’t Tarrick move out instead of staying there until he gets an eviction notice? That part!

Lindell talked about the different stories he has written about as it related to White folk such as David Combs Rocky Mount former Mayor crooked deals with his real estate business, Robbie Davis Nash Chair County Commissioner business with the shabby roof on a school I believe Southern Nash and others.

I would love to see some more conversation about putting crime on the front page of the paper versus on page 3.

Lindell Kay said he is still trying to learn the culture of Rocky Mount but it is funny as hell how Crystal Wimes-Anderson who has only been here from Florida a little over a year and running against Rev. Richard Joyner Incumbent in Ward 4 act like she has figured something out. Oh because she has joined Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens and pushing their agenda.

Lindell Kay said Andre is a character and he was questioned what did he mean. I googled Character and this is one of the examples listed, “The character of a person or place consists of all the qualities they have that make them distinct from other people or places.”

I disagree with Nehemiah that Lindell Kay was a voice for the people because I have talked to the majority of the reporters from the Rocky Mount Telegram that covered the Rocky Mount Edgecombe County side. I knew Jeff Herrin the editor personally, editors before him, the current editor Gene Metrick and others. I used to write so many letters to the editor weekly that some folk thought I worked there.

I remember a Black reporter that was here before Lindell Kay that was writing about Rocky Mount Edgecombe County side and he was not allowed in some meetings in private settings. I remember when he was not allowed to come in a meeting. When this guy was leaving to go to another job, I met with him and he introduced me to blogging and I have been rolling since. However a White female out of Winston Salem that followed my internet writings had told me about blogging as well.

About Councilman Andre Knight incident fall no it would not have stopped the conversation about it if the city had put out he had had an incident. It would not have mattered because some folk don’t give a damn about some folk even when they are having a hard time on a personal note. I bet if Andre had been White this conversation would not be.

Bronson said that some folk don’t care about a person’s track record/background if the person is saying what they want to hear. I be damn if I have that mindset. Sometimes some folk like Samuel Battle say some things that makes sense but that ain’t the case the majority of the time. Anyone that follows and promote him is just as damn ignant as he is. I don’t support known criminals and folk with records who want to make decisions for folk when I know they got ongoing issues.

Lindell Kay summed it up about Racism. What do White folk lose? He said there was no Elvis without Black music.

Damn that was good to Bronson when Lindell Kay said he was like me have 0 Friends. Somebody missed that! He was talking about my saying “I have no permanent friends no permanent enemies only permanent interest!”

Thank you Lindell Kay for educating folk about Confederate Monuments that they were for intimidating Black Folk.

When Lindell Kay segment ended, it ended for me because I know the ignant callers would begin.

I heard that Rev. Roosevelt Higgs called in talking about the Black DA and the Black Sheriff being held accountable. Damn he still mad because he and his family members has some issues with Sheriff Clee Atkinson. He probably got an issue with the DA because the incident with his son happened on the Nash County side of Rocky Mount where Higgs has been living for about the past 5 – 6 years. I sure hope he do not try to vote in Edgecombe County because he need to change his Voters Registration. Ain’t it funny how Higgs has been living in Rocky Mount Nash County but voting in Edgecombe County claiming he lives in Speed but Andre Knight sued the County because of Higgs and some racists challenged Knight’s residency saying he lived on Nash County side and not Edgecombe. But Knight has been on the council for nearly 20 years. Higgs was removed as the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair around 2 years ago for not following the Democratic Party Plan of Organization.

I heard Alice Davis called in talking about she didn’t think that it should be an issue with Tarrick Pittman being served with eviction notices and being appointed by Mayor Sandy Roberson who is running for Congress. Tarrick was evicted by the city because he owes them around $15000 now owes Speight’s Trophy around $7000. He claims the buildings have issues and obviously he felt he didn’t have to pay. But my question is why didn’t he move out if the buildings were not in condition to work in? That part!

What Lindell Kay did today is to show what Media is all about. You write about folk and issues and do what you can to sell papers and to gain notoriety on the job. You get to win awards. You get to expose folk but because White folk keep Black issues at the forefront, Black folk do not do the same when it comes to White issues. Lindell talked about how Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens Whites talk about Andre 24-7 but show me a page that Black Folk are talking about the Mayor and other Whites?

Today was the best show that I have ever seen on WNCR TV since I had my show at night from  9 – 11 back in the early 2000’s. I had real guest to come in or to call from across the nation and the same when I had my show on WCPS Radio in the early 2000’s. My show was “You Can Make A Difference!”

I will leave you with that part, “You Can Make A Difference!” Get involved! Hold all folk accountable, family, friends and others who are making decisions on behalf of all folk politically. To do otherwise you are part of the problem.

Rocky Mount need some real media outlets and social media pages that are going to talk about it all and not just sit back and talk about White folk coming for Black Leadership. Well hell you are on Rocky Mount Concerned Citizens page and others allowing them to say mess about Black Leadership when you don’t question them.

But when White folk do something like Mayor Sandy Roberson and his most recent appointment of Tarrick Pittman when folk know he has issues but Black folk ain’t saying anything.

As long as Black Folk continue to be silent on issues that matter, we will continue to have our Black Leadership under attack with Racist White Folk and Ignant Safe Negro Black Folk trying to discredit and destroy them.

I refuse to be silent.

About The DCN

The DCN News Blog Online TV is Your Alternative News Source. I Curmilus Butch Dancy II operate out of pocket as I travel Edgecombe County but not limited to documenting the News and Events via Video and Photos. Videos are documented on a DVD and/or Livestreamed on Facebook and also on Youtube. Photos are documented on Facebook and a Flash Drive that can be taken to Walmart, Walgreen or somewhere that Photos can be developed. If documented on a DVD it may be available within 24 hours however Livestreamed documents are just that live unless WI-FI is an issue so therefore may have to be uploaded to Social Media shortly after the Event.

Donations are accepted.

I am Curmilus Butch Dancy II a Community and Political Activist since the late 80’s. I have put in the time and resources by serving as an Edgecombe County Democratic Party Precinct Vice Chair, currently a Precinct Chair, served as the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair, served on the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee since the late 80’s. I currently serve on NC State Democratic Party Executive Committee. I have attended political meetings and continue to attend political meetings across the county but not limited to. Not only have I attended them but have videoed them.

Black History I Know These Folk And Have Been In Their Presence Unlike These Folk Who Say They Are All About Black History & Just Talking

1st Black Female Congresswoman Warrenton North Carolina, Warren County (1992 – 2003)
Eva Clayton
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party.
I am so glad to have worked with her in the 1st Congressional District when she was 1st elected.

1st Black Sheriff Macclesfield North Carolina, Edgecombe County (1996 Appointed Elected 1998 – 2017)
James L. Knight Sr.
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party. In 1998 I was elected as the Interim County Chair to serve out the unexpired term of Roy Gray who resigned to go to work with Congresswoman Eva Clayton. I had filed to run for School Board before being elected to Be County Chair. Because the School Board is non-partisan I was didn’t have step down as chair however I concentrated on getting Knight and others elected. James Knight is my cousin and we have talked and continue to talk daily. His wife is my cousin as well. Rev. Roosevelt Higgs was trying to get a White Male appointed and we set him down.

1st Black & First Female Clerk of Superior Court Princeville North Carolina, Edgecombe County (1990 – 1994, 1998 – Present)
Carol Allen White
I was the 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party in 1990. In 1998 I was elected as the Interim County Chair to serve out the unexpired term of Roy Gray who resigned to go to work with Congresswoman Eva Clayton. I had filed to run for School Board before being elected to Be County Chair. Because the School Board is non-partisan I was didn’t have step down as chair however I concentrated on getting White re-elected and others elected. I went to school with her brother Kearney Allen and her son worked with me briefly at Honeywell. Carol was fired from her job because she filed to run against her boss. She won the election and then a White group was formed called Edgecombe County First and they unseated Carol after her 1st term but look at God she has been there since being re-elected in 1998.

1st Black Female Sheriff Greenville North Carolina, Pitt County (2018 – Present)
Paula Stokes Dance
I recognized her along with Sheriff Clee Atkinson Edgecombe County and former Edgecombe County Sheriff James Knight Retired during my Men’s Day Program at my Church.

1st Black Mayor Snow Hill North Carolina, Greene County (2001 – 2008)
Donald Davis (Don)
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when Don was elected Mayor of Snow Hill so we were in the 1st Congressional District.
I have been working with Don Davis since he has been the Chair of the 1st Congressional District. I look forward to Senator Don Davis to become my Congressman. Congressman G.K. Butterfield has retired. I have family in Snow Hill. If I am correct when Don won the Mayoral seat many of the council members resigned because he was Black.                       
                       
1st Black President Edgecombe Community College (2018 – Present)
Dr. Greg McLeod Fayetteville NC, Cumberland County
I attended the Reception held for him when he was hired. I have been in his presence and have talked to him several times since he has been here.

1st Black Police Chief Tarboro NC, Edgecombe County (2012 – 2016)
Damon Williams Raeford NC, Hoke County
I got to know Damon real well while he was in Tarboro. Hated to see him leave.

1st Black Fire Chief City of Rocky Mount North Carolina Edgecombe/Nash Counties (2019 – Present) 
Corey C. Mercer Rocky Mount North Carolina
I knew of Corey before he became Chief as I attended Rocky Mount City Council Meetings and other events in Rocky Mount.

1st Black Chair Board of Trustees Edgecombe Community College (1996 – Present)
Rev. Jerry Spruell Tarboro North Carolina, Edgecombe County
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when Jerry was elected Board Chair however I worked with Jerry when he was elected to Edgecombe County Board of Commissioners in the late 80’s. I had a business relationship with him before the politics.

1st Black District Attorney East of Raleigh NC (Wilson, Nash, Edgecombe Counties) (2009 – Present)
Robert Evans Rocky Mount North Carolina
I was serving on Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee when Robert was appointed DA.

1st Black Female Edgecombe County Commissioner Tarboro North Carolina (1996 – 2001)
Dr. Florence A. Armstrong
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when Dr. Armstrong was elected. I attended the Commissioners meetings videoing and challenging them over the years.
I have been knowing Dr. Armstrong about all of my life. Her mother was my dad’s school teacher. My family is married in her family. I have been working with her since I joined the Edgecombe County Democratic Party in the late 80’s when she became the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair, the Board of Commissioners and now currently the Chair of the Edgecombe County Board of Elections. I remember when Rev. Thomas L. Walker was saying it was not time for a woman commissioner and I kept telling Dr. Armstrong, Lois Watkins and Hagans-Campbell (can’t remember her 1st name) that anytime was time for a woman. 

1st Black Sheriff Wilson North Carolina, Wilson County (2010 – Present)
Calvin Woodard
When Calvin ran for Sheriff I went over to Wilson to his campaign events and I promoted him on my social media pages. I have worked with the Wilson County Democratic Party, NAACP and served with some folk on the former N.E.E.D. Inc. Board. I used to video the Wilson County Human Relations events back in the late 90’s – 2000’s. Woodard had to fight the hard to win against the ole guards who were not ready for a Black Sheriff.

1st Black President Of These United States
(2008 –2016)
Barack Obama
I was following Obama when he was a Senator. I videoed him at North Carolina Central University North Carolina when he announced he was running for President. After he filed I videoed him when he came to Beddingfield High School Wilson County North Carolina. I videoed him when he came to East Carolina University North Carolina. I videoed his wife Michelle Obama when she came to Rocky Mount Senior High Rocky Mount NC when she represented him. I also videoed former President William Bill Clinton when he came to North Carolina Wesleyan College North Carolina to represent Obama. 

1st Black Edgecombe County Manager 1993 – 2001)
Joseph Durham 
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when he was hired as the County Manager. I got to know him really well because I attended the Commissioners meetings videoing and challenging them over the years.

1st Black Chair Edgecombe County Commissioner (1982 – 1993)
Rev. J.O. Thorne Rocky Mount North Carolina
I got to know Rev. Thorne because I was an Edgecombe County Precinct 3rd Vice Chair. Can’t remember but I think I was the 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party for most of that time. I got to know him quite well.

Note: I have videoed and taken photos of all of them.

Stay tuned will continue to add to list.