Edgecombe County Sheriff Appointment Should Be A Main Concern While Folk Are Worrying About President Trump

I posted the following article on my blog “Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee Should Meet On March 1st To Recommend A Name To Present To County Commissioners For Sheriff Appointmentwhich automatically posted to my Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn social media pages on January 7, 2017. I still have not heard from but one candidate that is interested. I have heard a couple of names however I am not going to say who that person is until a couple of days from now.

Obviously folk don’t read The DCN News Blog Online TV and/or any of my social media sites because I had stated over the years that at anytime folk are running for office in Edgecombe County but not limited to because I have a vote either during the May Primary and November General Election you need to contact me. However because I am a Precinct Chair I also have a vote when it comes to certain appointments one being the Sheriff appointment. Some folk know and some do know that I played a major role in the appointment of Sheriff James Knight on the local but also statewide in the appointment of G.K. Butterfield to Congress and the election of Rev. Dr. William J. Barber II when he was elected President of the NC NAACP. Nope I ain’t nobody and only have on vote, however I do have a voice and a network.

While those Edgecombe County folk whom are focusing on Trump we need to be talking about the Sheriff appointment. Maybe you have not heard, maybe you don’t know and/or maybe you don’t care. Well I am telling you if you don’t know and I ask that you share the information with your family and friends because they may not receive my information. Some folk who don’t live on Edgecombe County side that have an audience such as pastors and other, you need to be sharing the information so they will be aware of what is fitting ready to take place after Sheriff Knight retires on February 28, 2017 a little over 30 days from today.

There are 21 Democratic Precincts in Edgecombe County and the chair and the vice chair can vote. There are numerous Democratic Party Elected Officials that have a vote. There are 6 Democratic Party Officers on the County Executive Committee. There may be some Ex-Officio members who may be able to vote and all of these folk are called the Edgecombe County Executive Committee that must come together and vote on a candidate. Once that is done the Edgecombe County Commissioners must appoint the name given to them.

All persons who are interested in the appointment need to contact Rev. Roosevelt Higgs (252) 907-8311 Democratic Party Chair and/or the secretary. I asked the secretary for the information and she said Rev. Higgs have it. I understand he has been asked for the information but he has not been willing to give it up. I don’t have time to play with him so I will not be contacting him. I know he will be be trying to hold off on the information so he can attempt to manipulate the process because I know how he works. But the information should be readily available for any Democrat in the county.

I would love to see the Edgecombe County Democratic Women hold a forum to ask anyone whom may be interested in the appointment. I suggest the ECDW because the Democratic Party under the leadership of Rev. Higgs has not held any type of forum other than being a party of the Edgecombe County Human Relations Commission.

Lastly do ya’ll know that the Sheriff runs the county? Folk this is a very, very, very serious appointment.

Now don’t get it twisted. I am not asking anyone to agree with me I am just putting the trues out there. I have no control over how folk receive information. I also ask folk to do their own homework because I do mines.

The challenge is on.

I Agree Totally With Sparrow R. Jones I Don’t Think Less Of You Because . . .

The autistic author Sparrow R. Jones said it well:

I am not mad at you that Clinton lost. I am unconcerned that we have different politics. And I don’t think less of you because you vote one way and I vote another. No… I think less of you because you watched an adult mock a disabled person in front of a crowd and still supported him. I think less of you because you saw a man spouting clear racism and backed him. I think less of you because you listened to him advocate for war crimes, and still thought he should run this country. I think less of you because you watched him equate a woman’s worth to her appearance and got on board. It isn’t your politics that I find repulsive. It is your personal willingness to support racism, sexism, and cruelty. You sided with a bully when it mattered and that is something I will never forget. So, no… you and I won’t be “coming together” to move forward or whatever. Trump disgusts me, but it is the fact that he doesn’t disgust you that will stick with me long after this election.