Board member Sutton wants Raleigh police apology


Raleigh, N.C. — A Wake County school board member almost arrested in a scuffle between protesters and police said Wednesday he’s owed an apology.

Keith Sutton, who represents East Raleigh District 4, said Wednesday that police officers grabbed him during a break at Tuesday’s school board meeting while he was trying to protect a young girl caught in a protest against a controversial change to the county’s student assignment policy. (Read more @ WRAL)

See related:

Wake County Public Schools

One Response

  1. I was born in LA in 1944 and spent 35 yrs. in San Francisco before moving to Raleigh! From 30 to 60 I did not find myself in handcuffs once until I arrived in NC. I was sitting in my car legally parked across the street from my apt, engine cold, keys in the ignition, no wallet on person.(MY MISTAKE) I had left my drivers liscence inside our my home! I was placed under arrest for not having ID on person, was not allowed to use the police officers cell phone to ask my wife to bring my valid drivers liscence outside, and was then fingerprinted and called boy at least 30 times from the time I entered the police car until the magistrate apologized and sent me home with no charge! I have lectured in 20 universities. I have served on UNC’s summer faculty for three summers. I am articulate and intelligent. My pants don’t hang down around my butt. I was polite and cooperative, yet I was called BOY atleast 30 times! I assumed that those acts were a ploy to get me angered! I did not repond! Not all police officers feel that way, but that was my experience! And I feel that that was the same spirit of ill will which came into play when Mr. Sutton was almost arrested! Attention NC, gone are the days when the citizens who employ you can be treated with disrespect!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.