Edgecombe County -Where Were You? I Was There!


I became actively engaged as a community activist and a community activist in the late 80’s.

I was there when we appointed James Knight as the 1st Black Sheriff of Edgecombe County in b 1996. I had a vote in the matter because I was a county officer. He was elected in 1998 and is still our Sheriff.

I was there when Carol Allen White announced she was running for Clerk of Court as she worked in the Clerks office. She was fired. She ran, won and became the 1st Black Clerk of Court. The powers that be ran Patsy Whaley against Carol during the next election and won.Carol set out for 4 years but ran again and has been our clerk since the early 2000’s. 

I was there when we got Andre Knight and Lois Watkins elected to Rocky Mount City Council.

I was there in Greensboro when we got Rev. Dr. William J. Barber elected as President of the NC NAACP State President and he has taken the NAACP to a whole new level. He is still serving as our President. 

I was there when we appointed G.K. Butterfield to replace Congressman Frank Ballance in the around the early 2000’s. He has become one of the most effective Congressmen in my lifetime along with Congresswoman Eva Clayton. G.K. is still serving.

I was there when we got Attorney General Mike Easley and Senator John Edward’s elected. I worked closely pith my good friend Anthony Young whom ran their campaigns.

I was there at NC Central University capturing Senator Barack Obama on video when he came to announce he would be running for President in NC. I was there when Obama came to Wilson Beddingfield High School and East Carolina University. I was at Rocky Mount High School when Michelle Obama came and spoke on behalf of Obama days before the election in 2008. I was in Rocky Mount when former President came to speak on behalf of Obama.

I can call numerous others names of others politicians locally and statewide that I was there.

Folk I have been there where were you? Since I didn’t see you then, it ain’t too late for you to get involved.

What you gone do? If you ain’t gonna get involved on the ground, then stay the hell out of my way because I will not entertain folk who got so much to say but ignant to what us going on around them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.