Edgecombe County Democratic Party Safe Negroes Voted Against Me At The Convention


Click on picture to watch Video (59 minutes)

image

On Saturday, April 16, 2011 I want to thank Taro Knight for nominating me for 2nd vice chair as a county officer. I also want to thank all of the precincts who voted for me.

Roosevelt Higgs nominated Robert Byrd incumbent.

Well I didn’t go to the convention to run for anything however I was asked did I want to run for the chair position and I said no. One thing they are not ready for me because I am capable of running the party without a lot of drama. I had 0 ZER0 drama when I was the interim county chair when Rev. Roy Gray resigned his post in 1998 and also when Dorothy Joyner resigned her post in the early 2000’s. I know I did a damn good job because I had my mess together every meeting.

I have served as 3rd vice chair, 2nd vice, 1st vice and interim chair of the party so I am very much familiar with the Party Plan of Organization. I resigned under the leadership of Higgs back in the early 2000’s and I have not been interested in serving as a county officers because of Safe Negroes within the party have promoted Higgs drama and still continue to do so however he was stripped as a county officer.

I received around 68 votes to Byrd’s 107.

Now a party that talks about getting young people involved although I am 48 I am not in the category with the other officers who are chair around 65, Gladys’ Shelton 1st vice chair is 86, Robert Byrd 2nd vice chair is 65 or plus, and former secretary Leah Vines was 65 or plus. I had to leave the meeting to go video my daughter’s former classmate’s funeral and I heard that Viola Harris around 52 was elected to serve as secretary because from my understanding Vines had long resigned her post shortly after being appointed last year but the chair Allen Mitchell has never made the county executive committee aware. Stephanie Hunter who is 30 plus is the treasurer.

I have no problem with older folks serving up to a certain age because I am older than some folks my self. But to be in the 60 to 80 something category and not doing anything, what good is holding the office but continuing to talk about getting young folks involved? They want to have a title but too damn bad there are not official titles for the office of do nothing but then again yes it is because the Edgecombe County Democratic Party is just that.

Now back to the Safe Negroes who didn’t support me. There were 3 black precincts in Rocky Mount who have lots of votes and they are chaired by Deacon Bernard Bullock, Rev. Lawrence Taylor and Ava somebody. I didn’t receive any of their votes because Bullock don’t like me, Taylor had to do what Edgecombe County Public Schools Chair Evelyn Wilson tell him. Attorney William Solomon who served as the Young Democrats Chair in the past finally showed up again since speaking at a previous convention didn’t support me either. Ava is in the precinct with Shelly Willingham who also don’t like me but Willingham was not present. I can’t remember which one of these precincts Rev. and Edgecombe County Commissioner Wayne Hines is in but he didn’t support me either. They were all sitting together and voted along the same lines. Now don’t think this is all of the Safe Negroes I just named a few. I will be doing a post later listing the Safe Negroes of Edgecombe County who in my opinion, I repeat in my opinion continues to hold us right where we are.

Well I did a Higgs on them, I accepted the nomination so that I could address the convention and also so I could capture on video the Safe Negroes who are holding us right where we are. In my speech I was addressing that group that they didn’t have to like me but know that I will do what is good for the party.

But one thing about me I know I could be good for the party because of my resources, technology skills and connection to politicians across the state.

See the video for yourself and see the Safe Negroes in action.

See related:

Edgecombe County Democratic Party

One Response

  1. They scared of you. Can’t stand to see an educated brotha who aint afraid to shake things up. Truth to power my brotha.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.