Grand jury was never asked to mull homicide charges in Breonna Taylor case


The Political Agitator’s response: Like I said the other day this is getting gooder and gooder. I don’t know how it is going to turn out but what I do know is that I don’t get so excited early on in cases like this because I don’t know the players. I wait for information fallout. Looks like we are going to see what Cameron did. I am just trying to see something. I’ll wait!

Kentucky’s attorney general has acknowledged that he never asked the grand jury to consider homicide charges against police in the killing of Breonna Taylor.

Amid outrage over the long-awaited charging decision, Attorney General Daniel Cameron said he would agree with a judge’s order to make public a recording of the proceedings, and that he wouldn’t object if members of the panel want to speak publicly about their grand jury experience.

In his statement Monday night, Cameron also revealed that the only charge he recommended to the jury was wanton endangerment. He had previously declined to provide details on what charges prosecutors brought to the grand jury to consider when it met last week.

Cameron said the grand jury is meant to be a “secretive body,” but “It’s apparent that the public interest in this case isn’t going to allow that to happen.”

Cameron said a recording of the grand jury proceedings would be released Wednesday. (Read more)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.