Edgecombe County Commissioners February 2022 Meeting

Edgecombe County Board Of Commissioners
Monday February 7, 2022 5:00 PM

Public Comments

Good evening,

First of all thank you for allowing me to serve on the Edgecombe County Animal Welfare Council. I don’t see anything on the agenda about a report on the Edgecombe County Animal Shelter. I would hope that each month a report will be given because the need of a new Animal Shelter should be a high priority.

I hope you will update the Sheriff vehicles with high mileage. I was at the Edgecombe County Christmas Classic Basketball Game at Tarboro High and I parked across from an old Sheriff SUV. I was typing up a question to my Sheriff about it. However a Deputy drove up and as we were walking in, I questioned him about the year of the SUV. He said that it was in rotation when he was just a Deputy in the early 2000’s if I remember correctly. He said it was not in rotation that only SROs use them for driving to a school event or etc. and not for patrolling. I also understand that some of the vehicles in rotation have lots of miles on them as well. I don’t know the magic number for mileage but I do know I have passed by a local business for a couple of years and at any given time I see several Sheriff cars there for repair.

It is obvious that Edgecombe County Sheriff Office is doing a great because I questioned where was the Tarboro Police Officers at the game. Someone told me that only see the Sheriff Office working the games. However I stand to be corrected.

I sure hope the county can convince QVC to rebuild because these folk are taking a huge pay cut from the salary they were making to the little unemployment that NC offers. QVC has nothing to do with the amount of unemployment wages so that was good when they paid them for several weeks at the salary they were making.

I know the Edgecombe County Commissioners like other entities have some issues/challenges however I hope you will attend to my requests.

Thanking you in advance.

Curmilus Dancy II
Tarboro NC

Tunnels, jails and canals: Remnants of the Underground Railroad still exist in Halifax County

HALIFAX, N.C. — Highly secretive and illegal during its era, there are very few remnants of the Underground Railroad in North Carolina. However, if you’re looking to find clues to its past, one of the best places to begin is by following our state’s major rivers.

In the 1700 and 1800s, major rivers were known as "Freedom Roads," and if you explore the Roanoke River in Halifax County, you’ll find pieces of the Underground Railroad’s history still standing today.

Halifax County is the only place in N.C. with three registered historic sites on the National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. In this quiet rural community, you can touch tangible remnants of this painful and often-forgotten past.

There’s a trail that leads to the Roanoke River – and along the trail, historians have placed signs showing actual newspaper ads ran by plantation-owners seeking men and women who had escaped slavery.

There’s even a 200-year-old stone aqueduct – imposing and draped in ivy in the middle of the woods – that was built using enslaved labor – then later used as part of the Underground Railroad itself.

Along a trail to the Roanoke River, city councilwoman and historian Sandra Bryant says she can almost sense the Freedom Seekers who once walked in these very woods, following the river to a dream of freedom.

Today, the Underground Railroad Trail is just one place in Historic Halifax that allows visitors a glimpse of this history. (Read more)

Edgecombe County Tarboro/Rocky Mount Dr. Greg McLeod 1st Black Edgecombe Community College President

May be an image of 1 person and text that says 'BLACK HISTORY MONTH| 2022 Dr. Greg McLeod is the first African American president of Edgecombe Community College. He became president in 2018 and the college 5th president. GREG MCLEOD Edgecombe COLLEGE COMMUNITY'

Congrats!

And I remember well when Andre Knight, Melvin Muhammad and my self were trying to get them to hire the 1st Black President after Hartwell Fuller transitioned. We didn’t get a Black President then but after Fuller’s replacement and she retired, we are there.

Video Set Up Back To Doing What I Like To Documenting History

May be an image of 3 people, camera and text that says 'SC Dancy 2The-DCN'Well before the Pandemic I was using 2 cameras the Camcorder on the left for DVD copies and Photo Camera not shown.

Recently purchased an IPAD on the right for Videoing Live on Facebook and to YouTube.

Saturday while videoing I took over 450 photos.

I hate I have turned down videoing for several funerals but I was not ready. I have had my COVID shots and hopefully will get my booster in a couple of days.