Message From The Eastern North Carolina Civic Group President Wesley Stokes


Dear members of the Eastern North Carolina Civic Group,

As we navigate uncertain times, it is my honor to serve as your new leader of the Eastern North Carolina Civic group (ENCCG), the state’s oldest civic and service network historically comprised of counties of North Carolina’s 1st Congressional District and surrounding areas.  I, Wesley Stokes, am truly humbled by the trust placed in me and want to assure you that I am committed to advancing our organization’s mission and values.

During my tenure, I intend to focus on enhancing member engagement and increasing our impact in the region and state.  I believe that together, we can achieve great things and look forward to working alongside each of you to make a positive difference.

In addition, I believe that transparency, open dialog, and inclusivity are critical to our success as an organization.  I will prioritize these values in all my interactions with members, stakeholders and the wider community.

I also want to acknowledge that we are navigating a challenging time for our organization. COVID-19 has altered the way we live, work and interact and we must be responsive to the needs of our members during this time.  I am committed to working with the new leadership team to explore new ways to connect and the frequency of face to face meetings.

Please join me in welcoming our new leadership team.  Carl Bond (Bertie Co.) will serve as 1st Vice President; Moses Matthews (Martin Co.) 2nd Vice President; Venessa Smith (Northampton Co.) 3rd Vice President; Betty Selby (Dare Co.) Secretary; Sarah Banks (Currituck Co.) Treasure and Mavis Hill (Washington Co.) Assistant Treasure.

I would be remiss if I did not thank 1st Vice President James Sears, Assistant Secretary Mae McGee and Treasurer Vera Murrill for their service and dedication to ENCCG. Mr. Sears stepped up to serve as president upon the resignation of our former president Mayor Fred Yates.  Mrs. McGee and Mrs. Murrill have provided us years of distinguished service however, like Mr. Sears, they chose not to continue in their roles as assistant secretary and treasurer.   Again, we say THANK YOU!

I am grateful for this opportunity to serve and to work with each of you to advance our collective vision. We want to hear from you.  If you have any suggestions to increase membership participation please do not hesitate to reach out to me or any member of the leadership team.  We need YOU.

Thank you for your continued dedication the Eastern North Carolina Civic Group.

Sincerely,

Wesley W. Stokes
President, Eastern North Carolina Civic Group

See Video Eastern NC Civic Group (ENCCG) Meeting Election Of Officers 4.22.2023


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.