LSU’s Angel Reese rejects Jill Biden’s White House invite explanation: ‘I don’t accept that’


The DCN response: Love it!

LSU women’s basketball star Angel Reese said she rejects comments made by First Lady Jill Biden about inviting both the Tigers and Iowa to the White House after LSU’s dominant victory over the Hawkeyes in the national championship and also said she would prefer to celebrate the title with the Obamas.

"I don’t accept that — I’m not going to lie to you, I don’t accept that apology because she said what she said," Reese said during an appearance on the "I Am Athlete" podcast that published Tuesday. "You can’t go back on certain things that you say. You felt that they should have came because of ‘sportsmanship,’ right? (Iowa) can have that spotlight; we’ll go to the Obamas. We’ll see Michelle. We’ll see Barack."

While Biden did not technically apologize via press secretary Vanessa Valdivia for her initial comments, the White House did walk them back Tuesday.

Reese, a sophomore forward, also said LSU declined to have Biden, who was in Houston to watch the game in person, speak to their locker room prior to tipoff.

"We said we didn’t want to," Reese said. "I think Joe Biden put somebody else to win the national championship. He didn’t even put us on his bracket, getting out of Baton Rouge, so I was like, ‘Bet. bet.’ I think he said we were going to lose to Michigan (in the second round) or something." (Source)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.