Theresa Alston 1st Black Female Radio Disc Jockey (DJ)/Radio Personality For WRSV Also Known As Soul 92


May be an image of 1 person, sitting, standing, indoor and text that says 'Theresa TheresaAlston Alston'Click on Photo to visit Theresa’s Facebook Page

“I’m Theresa Alston and I am Black History”. The first female radio disc jockey (DJ)/radio personality for WRSV also known as Soul 92. During that time radio was male dominated. There were several local stations in the area but none had female personalities. When I started working there, I was not thinking about the historical factor. I had just graduated from college and was about to leave the area when I received a call to start working there. Radio pioneer Mr. Charles O. Johnson and the Johnson family gave me and many others the opportunity to be a part of a movement that made a huge difference in the city of Rocky Mount and surrounding areas. We were the voice of the Black community. Many doors were opened for others because of that opportunity that was placed before me and the vision that was inspired by Mr. Charles O. Johnson . I had the honor to make history with some amazing people! I am forever grateful! How many of you remember those days? Share your memories .“I’m Theresa Alston and I am Black history!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.