Black History I Know These Folk And Have Been In Their Presence Unlike These Folk Who Say They Are All About Black History & Just Talking


1st Black Female Congresswoman Warrenton North Carolina, Warren County (1992 – 2003)
Eva Clayton
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party.
I am so glad to have worked with her in the 1st Congressional District when she was 1st elected.

1st Black Sheriff Macclesfield North Carolina, Edgecombe County (1996 Appointed Elected 1998 – 2017)
James L. Knight Sr.
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party. In 1998 I was elected as the Interim County Chair to serve out the unexpired term of Roy Gray who resigned to go to work with Congresswoman Eva Clayton. I had filed to run for School Board before being elected to Be County Chair. Because the School Board is non-partisan I was didn’t have step down as chair however I concentrated on getting Knight and others elected. James Knight is my cousin and we have talked and continue to talk daily. His wife is my cousin as well. Rev. Roosevelt Higgs was trying to get a White Male appointed and we set him down.

1st Black & First Female Clerk of Superior Court Princeville North Carolina, Edgecombe County (1990 – 1994, 1998 – Present)
Carol Allen White
I was the 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party in 1990. In 1998 I was elected as the Interim County Chair to serve out the unexpired term of Roy Gray who resigned to go to work with Congresswoman Eva Clayton. I had filed to run for School Board before being elected to Be County Chair. Because the School Board is non-partisan I was didn’t have step down as chair however I concentrated on getting White re-elected and others elected. I went to school with her brother Kearney Allen and her son worked with me briefly at Honeywell. Carol was fired from her job because she filed to run against her boss. She won the election and then a White group was formed called Edgecombe County First and they unseated Carol after her 1st term but look at God she has been there since being re-elected in 1998.

1st Black Female Sheriff Greenville North Carolina, Pitt County (2018 – Present)
Paula Stokes Dance
I recognized her along with Sheriff Clee Atkinson Edgecombe County and former Edgecombe County Sheriff James Knight Retired during my Men’s Day Program at my Church.

1st Black Mayor Snow Hill North Carolina, Greene County (2001 – 2008)
Donald Davis (Don)
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when Don was elected Mayor of Snow Hill so we were in the 1st Congressional District.
I have been working with Don Davis since he has been the Chair of the 1st Congressional District. I look forward to Senator Don Davis to become my Congressman. Congressman G.K. Butterfield has retired. I have family in Snow Hill. If I am correct when Don won the Mayoral seat many of the council members resigned because he was Black.                       
                       
1st Black President Edgecombe Community College (2018 – Present)
Dr. Greg McLeod Fayetteville NC, Cumberland County
I attended the Reception held for him when he was hired. I have been in his presence and have talked to him several times since he has been here.

1st Black Police Chief Tarboro NC, Edgecombe County (2012 – 2016)
Damon Williams Raeford NC, Hoke County
I got to know Damon real well while he was in Tarboro. Hated to see him leave.

1st Black Fire Chief City of Rocky Mount North Carolina Edgecombe/Nash Counties (2019 – Present) 
Corey C. Mercer Rocky Mount North Carolina
I knew of Corey before he became Chief as I attended Rocky Mount City Council Meetings and other events in Rocky Mount.

1st Black Chair Board of Trustees Edgecombe Community College (1996 – Present)
Rev. Jerry Spruell Tarboro North Carolina, Edgecombe County
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when Jerry was elected Board Chair however I worked with Jerry when he was elected to Edgecombe County Board of Commissioners in the late 80’s. I had a business relationship with him before the politics.

1st Black District Attorney East of Raleigh NC (Wilson, Nash, Edgecombe Counties) (2009 – Present)
Robert Evans Rocky Mount North Carolina
I was serving on Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee when Robert was appointed DA.

1st Black Female Edgecombe County Commissioner Tarboro North Carolina (1996 – 2001)
Dr. Florence A. Armstrong
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when Dr. Armstrong was elected. I attended the Commissioners meetings videoing and challenging them over the years.
I have been knowing Dr. Armstrong about all of my life. Her mother was my dad’s school teacher. My family is married in her family. I have been working with her since I joined the Edgecombe County Democratic Party in the late 80’s when she became the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Chair, the Board of Commissioners and now currently the Chair of the Edgecombe County Board of Elections. I remember when Rev. Thomas L. Walker was saying it was not time for a woman commissioner and I kept telling Dr. Armstrong, Lois Watkins and Hagans-Campbell (can’t remember her 1st name) that anytime was time for a woman. 

1st Black Sheriff Wilson North Carolina, Wilson County (2010 – Present)
Calvin Woodard
When Calvin ran for Sheriff I went over to Wilson to his campaign events and I promoted him on my social media pages. I have worked with the Wilson County Democratic Party, NAACP and served with some folk on the former N.E.E.D. Inc. Board. I used to video the Wilson County Human Relations events back in the late 90’s – 2000’s. Woodard had to fight the hard to win against the ole guards who were not ready for a Black Sheriff.

1st Black President Of These United States
(2008 –2016)
Barack Obama
I was following Obama when he was a Senator. I videoed him at North Carolina Central University North Carolina when he announced he was running for President. After he filed I videoed him when he came to Beddingfield High School Wilson County North Carolina. I videoed him when he came to East Carolina University North Carolina. I videoed his wife Michelle Obama when she came to Rocky Mount Senior High Rocky Mount NC when she represented him. I also videoed former President William Bill Clinton when he came to North Carolina Wesleyan College North Carolina to represent Obama. 

1st Black Edgecombe County Manager 1993 – 2001)
Joseph Durham 
I was 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party when he was hired as the County Manager. I got to know him really well because I attended the Commissioners meetings videoing and challenging them over the years.

1st Black Chair Edgecombe County Commissioner (1982 – 1993)
Rev. J.O. Thorne Rocky Mount North Carolina
I got to know Rev. Thorne because I was an Edgecombe County Precinct 3rd Vice Chair. Can’t remember but I think I was the 3rd Vice Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party for most of that time. I got to know him quite well.

Note: I have videoed and taken photos of all of them.

Stay tuned will continue to add to list.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.