Rocky Mount Telegram Councilman hospitalized after accident


The DCN News Blog Online TV response: I have been waiting for the media and social media posts about this incident. I learned of Knight’s incident the day after it occurred. It was reported in the Spring Hope Enterprise that the incident was from a collapsed roof. However I was told that it was not a collapsed roof. I have been waiting for the ignant comments because I knew they were coming. It is sad when folk can’t put their petty differences aside during a time when something is of a serious nature. As far as I know I echo Blackwell’s comments that Knight is in good condition. He is on the road to recovery. I too have no details to report nor share because that should come from the man himself. It is sad that the report can’t be done without adding all of the negatives but that comes with the territory when you are an Elected Official and especially a strong Black Voice. But even if the haters are wishing Knight a speedy recover, how do you trust that? I know I would not if I was in his position dealing with his accident. But I can’t speak for him unless he gives me that right. So in the meantime I will support him in his recovery and this too will pass.

Questions are circulating in the community about whether City Councilman Andre Knight is OK physically right now and whether he will be OK in the long term, but no specific information has been provided to the Telegram via official channels.

Knight reportedly was injured in a fall at a downtown building, sources familiar with the incident told the Telegram.

Knight was listed Friday as a patient in good condition at WakeMed in Raleigh, Teresa Moss, an executive assistant in WakeMed’s marketing department, told the newspaper.

Knight could not be reached by the newspaper via text messaging.

Councilman Reuben Blackwell told the newspaper in a text message that Knight being in good condition is a great report “and we all wish him well and pray for a speedy recovery.

“I’m sure he’s grateful that so many people are interested in his health and well-being,” Blackwell said.

Otherwise, Blackwell said, “I have no details to report or share.”

The Spring Hope Enterprise reported that Knight suffered serious injuries as a result of having been involved in an accident at a downtown building involving a collapsing roof, but that the specific location of the incident is not immediately clear.

Mayor Sandy Roberson, reached by phone by the Telegram, said he had been hearing some rumblings in the community that Knight had been hurt, but that he had no confirmation of anything along such lines until he saw the Enterprise’s story.

“Of course, I hate for anybody to get hurt. I hate for anybody to get hurt,” Roberson said.

Roberson said he hopes Knight has a speedy recovery.

Overall, Roberson said of what reportedly happened, “I haven’t vetted it out. I don’t know what I don’t know.” (Read more)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.