Rocky Mount Housing Grants Concerns What Is Real And What Is Perceived?


I have been receiving some inquiries about the grants conversation and my response is that I listen to the noise and then I follow what all say and then see how the conversation play out to see if someone in position of power respond with what should be or should not be. Because I have not been at the table, don’t know how the process works, I can’t give a factual response. I base my responses on issues based on the facts as received. Because I don’t have the documents to how certain things suppose to be, I just wait until the facts come out. What I do is listen to how the council, city attorney respond and an entity that can either agree or disagree with him.

I was asked is the city giving out the grants wrong. What I got out of the noise is that some folk are mad about meetings were not announced, lack of transparency and how persons were chosen to receive the grants.

It is sad that the discussions on the local Social Media pages, TV and Radio stations are not dealing with the facts but talking about issues from an opinion standpoint.

The following are some articles about grants:

Councilmembers defend $805K in housing grants
Housing grant initiative spurs backlash
Residents criticize, question funding for housing grants 
Family rebuts insinuations of impropriety about relative with past record slated to receive city housing grant
Legal experts say council subcommittee meeting should have been open to public

About:

The DCN News Blog Online TV try to bring factual information to the people about issues and people.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.