Mr. Lewis Turner Longtime Fighter For Justice On All Levels Transitioned On This Morning Saturday January 23, 2021


image

In this photo: L-R Yours truly, Pastor Andre Knight President Rocky Mount NC Branch NAACP/City Councilman  Dr. Ben Chavis, Reuben Blackwell, Lewis Turner

The Political Agitator’s response: On yesterday evening I received a call from Pastor Andre Knight President Rocky Mount NC Branch NAACP/City Councilman that my friend, brother and dad (because he thought he was my daddy), the Honorable Lewis Turner was transitioning. Early this morning Andre called to let me know that he had transitioned. Andre and I were constantly talking about him and we finally made contact with him around a week ago to learn that he was not doing well. I met Lewis back in the late 80’s and he seen how I was trying to become actively engaged in politics. He took me under his wings and he taught me much from serving with him during my time with Black Workers For Justice, Democratic Party, NAACP and other community activities. Lewis used to ride with me across the state and when he was with me I took care of him. I covered the expenses gas and food. Lewis used to call me all the time talking about we got to do this and do that. Because of Lewis Turner I am the strong activist I am today. I worked with some others but Lewis and I go back the furthers. I am not sad on today because I know Lewis live a good life. Lewis wanted to make sure other folk lived a good life because he woke up and went to bed fighting for others even ungrateful Negro Black Folk. Lewis fought up til he couldn’t fight anymore although during the last couple of years he was getting around in a wheelchair. He was doing what healthy folk were not doing and that is fighting for justice speaking truth to power! I a glad to have know him and that he lived to be 86 years old.

It is with great sadness to announce the passing of Mr. Lewis Turner today January 23, 2021. Mr. Lewis, or Brother Turner, as he was affectionately called, was a courageous, long – time freedom fighter in the arenas of welfare rights, housing rights, workers rights, the death penalty, voting rights. He was a long standing member of Black Workers For Justice and the Rocky Mt. NAACP. At the time of his passing, he was a member also of the Rocky Mt. Racial Justice Group and the Community Academy. A more complete account of his life of struggle will be forthcoming. He was 86 years old.

He was the patriarch of a large loving family and as we receive more details of funeral and memorial arrangements, we will let everyone know. He will be sorely missed.

Bro. Lewis Turner, Freedom Fighter – Presente!
Submitted: Carol Headley <shafeah@mac.com>

One Response

  1. he was a. good friend and person will be missed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.