Early Voting & Absentee Voting 2020 What You Need To Know About Edgecombe County

The real issue is what if the Poll Workers decide not to show up to work on Election Day?

If you go to the polls and can’t vote on Election Day and you can’t vote there will be no other options.

I am a Precinct Chair and I know how the process works. I attend Board of Elections meetings.

I encourage folk to vote early during Early Voting or do Absentee Voting because of the Pandemic.

Get a Absentee Ballot and have it, you don’t have to use it if you go in and vote.

You have to take your Absentee Ballot to the Early Voting Sites you can not take them to the polls on Election Day. If you don’t take it to the Early Voting Sites then take them to the Board of Elections Office.

You Absentee Ballot will be counted. When the Board of Elections count the Ballots they are observed to make sure they have correct information signatures, witness and etc. When they observe them the public and go in and watch them. However there will be lawyers present to observe as well.

If can’t go in Board of Elections Office because of Pandemic then they must be and should be done online. However I don’t think it will be a problem for the lawyers to be present.

Absentee ballots may be requested from now until the deadline – 5 p.m. October 27, 2020. The request must be received in the county board of elections office by 5 p.m. October 27. If you are mailing your request, please include enough time for your request to be received by the deadline. For more info. about Absentee Voting: https://s3.amazonaws.com/dl.ncsbe.gov/Outreach/Absentee/FAQs_Absentee_Voting_2020_FINAL.pdf 

Edgecombe County Board of Elections

One Stop Voting Locations & Election Hours

General Election will be on November 3, 2020

Contact Us

Jerry Spruell

Lisa Morris:
Election Clerk I
Emma Davis:
Temporary Office Assistant

201 St. Andrew St.
Room 434
PO Box 10 Tarboro, NC 27886
(252) 641-7852
Fax: (252) 641-1740


M-F (8-5 pm)

Where I Stand On NC Primary Elections 2020

I am glad the NC Elections are over. This is the 1st year since the late 80’s that I have not been in Tarboro at the Board of Election Office and/or on my computer at home on Election Night getting the results. I went to Greenville to eat with some of my church family.

This year I have never seen the lack of Political Campaigning in all of my days. Back in the day I used to have my yard filled with candidate’s signs but over the past several years with the ignant ass Democratic Party Leadership (County Officers) in Edgecombe County there has been no activity going on.

I don’t give a damn who the Democratic Presidential Candidate is I am going to vote for him or her over the mess in office right now.

Folk continue to talk about the following past behavior over the years what Biden, Sanders and Bloomberg has done, I am just crazy enough to think that either will be better than the mess in office now.

So y’all carry on and since the NC Primary Election is over, I am just going to be ready to vote for whoever the Democratic Candidate is in November Election.

Democratic Party Primary Ballot For Me And Others That Vote At Lewis Fire Department

Sample Ballot D0009
Democratic Party Primary Edgecombe County, North Carolina
March 3, 2020

FEDERAL OFFICES Presidential Preference (You may vote for ONE)
Deval Patrick
Bernie Sanders
Tom Steyer
Elizabeth Warren
Marianne Williamson
Andrew Yang
Michael Bennet
Joseph R. Biden
Michael R. Bloomberg
Cory Booker
Pete Buttigieg
Julián Castro
John K. Delaney
Tulsi Gabbard
Amy Klobuchar
No Preference

US Senate (You may vote for ONE)
Erica D. Smith
Steve Swenson
Cal Cunningham
Trevor M. Fuller
Atul Goel

STATE OFFICES NC Governor (You may vote for ONE)
Ernest T. Reeves
Roy Cooper

NC Lieutenant Governor (You may vote for ONE)
Allen Thomas
Bill Toole
Terry Van Duyn
Chaz Beasley
Yvonne Lewis Holley
Ron Newton

NC Auditor (You may vote for ONE)
Luis A. Toledo
Beth A. Wood

NC Commissioner of Agriculture (You may vote for ONE)
Walter Smith
Jenna Wadsworth
Donovan Alexander Watson

NC Superintendent of Public Instruction (You may vote for ONE)
Keith A. Sutton
James Barrett
Constance (Lav) Johnson
Michael Maher
Jen Mangrum

NC Treasurer (You may vote for ONE)
Dimple Ajmera
Ronnie Chatterji
Matt Leatherman

Edgecombe County Schools Board of Education District 6 (You may vote for ONE)
Raymond L. Privott
Kimberly Wittig

End of Ballot