From CNN: DMX, rapper and actor, dies at 50

DMX, rapper and actor, dies at 50

https://www.cnn.com/2021/04/09/entertainment/dmx-rapper-dies/index.html

Authorities seek help in finding Cunningham’s killer | Crime | rockymounttelegram.com

Wow!

https://www.rockymounttelegram.com/news/crime/authorities-seek-help-in-finding-cunninghams-killer/article_6b5d7e82-9094-5c74-8f67-2a4016900d4d.html

Loyalty

Loyalty makes all the difference when it comes to friendship. Curmilus Dancy II April 9, 2021.

My Focus Is Not On Why But What Can I Do?

Yesterday hit me hard to learn of the tragedy of my friend. My definition of a friend is my definition and may be different from others.

When I can see a person for who they really are and what they really stand for, then that is where I leave that.

Some things I don’t try to figure out but just wait on time to show me what need to be revealed.

Although I am hurt, it ain’t about me and my hurt but my focus is how can I help the daughter deal with the hurt. I don’t know any other family members.

What I do know is that my friend showed me some love even though we had our differences.

I can not imagine a young lady having to deal with the tragedy of having to bury her dad. I know I can’t do a lot but I can do what I can and let her know that.

I appreciate the calls, the messages and whatever as it relates to my relationship with my friend. I don’t say that lightly because I strongly believe that some folk would not had understood my friend but because of our relationship they were open to deal with him.

I talk to everybody as long as I can tolerate them. Just because other folk have a difference of opinion about folk, well that has nothing to do with me and how I see people.

I mean it when I say I have no permanent friends no permanent enemies only permanent interest! It was not about he and I but the passion we had for activism.

My focus right now is not on why my friend but what can I do.

Folk are saying be safe. Well I trust and believe that what God has for me is for me. When you hear of my homegoing don’t worry about me.

I will continue to advocate for justice no matter who it is for or against.

I have no doubt that the Edgecombe County Sheriff Office will do their damn best to solve this case as they always do. Our ECSO love what they do even though they are underpaid. I appreciate these hard working men and women for serving our county.

CDC Director Declares Racism A ‘Serious Public Health Threat’ : NPR

https://www.npr.org/2021/04/08/985524494/cdc-director-declares-racism-a-serious-public-health-threat

Asheville manager briefs Rocky Mount officials on housing issues | Local News | rockymounttelegram.com

The early part of the first day of the City of Rocky Mount’s 2021 retreat in Asheville became a scene of Asheville’s top day-to-day municipal executive opening the floor to a question-and-answer session.

At one point, Asheville City Manager Debra Campbell said, “The biggest challenge right now from a social perspective that Asheville has is around — and I hope I use the correct word — we’re moving away from homelessness to houselessness.

“That is our biggest issue,” Campbell said. “And if you have driven (through) our community, you probably see tents and you probably see panhandlers — and you probably see a lot of things that I would suggest to you that we’re not ashamed of.

Source: Asheville manager briefs Rocky Mount officials on housing issues | Local News | rockymounttelegram.com