Edgecombe County Celebrated Super Seniors Older Americans Month In May And Jewel Tolson Was 106 But Turned 107 On July 4, 2017

image

Click on Photo to view 250 plus more photos

I had the honor and the privilege to capture this Jewel and other Seniors in May. I delivered DVDs to the Office of Aging so that each senior could have their own personal copy.

Edgecombe County Office of Aging Celebrates
Super Seniors Older Americans Month May 2017
Edgecombe County Administration Building Auditorium 

201 St. Andrews Street Tarboro North Carolina
Presider: Sheriff 
Clee Atkinson 
Messenger: Senator 
Erica Smith-Ingram

Video:
Part 1 
https://youtu.be/Tj8yz8mffNM
Part 2 https://youtu.be/JnCooqcth30

‘Love people, puppy dogs’: Tarboro woman celebrates 107 years – WRAL

The Watch Dog response: I had the honor and privilege to capture this Jewel on video and photo when Edgecombe County Celebrated Super Seniors Older Americans Month.

TARBORO, N.C. — July Fourth is America’s birthday, but on Tuesday, it was also Jewel Tolson’s 107th birthday.

Tolson was born on July 4, 1910. She now lives in a retirement community in Tarboro.

She was born in Hertford County and then lived on a farm in Bertie County. Tolson also worked as a nurse for the only doctor in Northhampton County.

She was married for 51 years. Her late husband, Paul, died in 1991. (Read more)

The Media Did A Hell Of A Mess With The SouthWest Edgecombe Graduation Diploma Being Withheld Coverage

I am amazed how the media made folk look ignant as it relates to the SouthWest Edgecombe diploma being withheld. I am talking about folk that ought to know better even some former educators who are stuck on the principal withholding the diploma.

I posted the facts out there as presented to me on my blog which automatically goes to my Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn accounts. I have come to the conclusions that some folk don’t want to know the truth because if they did they would read my stuff in death. Some just read the topic and don’t read the whole thing so they can get the facts. But because it don’t require much to look at the TV, they take that couple of seconds and run with it. Sad!

I have even had some folk to ask me what happened at events that I recorded for free, took the time to upload the entirely event on YouTube so they can watch it but they want me to tell them. And then when I tell them, they act like they were there and begin to know more about the issue than I do. Just ignant!

It is sad when folk that ought to know better do not research stuff to make sure they get the facts but no they join in with the one-sided story being told. How in the hell do black folk do that when they have been lied on over the years?

In Edgecombe County Tarboro the county seat only has 2 local newspapers but they only are published one time a week. You have to purchase them and you only get a potion of what happened. Those that really want the whole story and the truth they go to my page for free. I run into folk all the time that tell me when they want to know what is going on they go to my page. Maybe I need to start charging to read my trues and those who want half trues will support my work.

I hope folk will look at the media in a different way in the future. Know that when they are only telling one side of the story that something is wrong with that photo.

My challenge to folk is check out what is going on so that when you talk to others you will be informed.

At a time when children are lacking when it comes to parenting, some children are lost and roaming without any disciplining folk ought to know better are joining in and saying it is okay for a child to disrespect authority but it is not okay for an adult in authority to discipline a child. Damn something is wrong with that photo.