My Response To 1st Congressional District Don Davis


Dear Don Davis:

I first read your response on my cell phone until I got to my laptop so I could read it in big print. Wow! I have read your response to the issue at hand and I find it quite interesting. I hate it when folk play upon my intelligence.

Let me set the record straight it is not about you and Roosevelt Higgs unless you all want it to be. I am not dragging you into anything. It is called accountability.

It was never brought before us that there would be an expense for your services. However if it was agreed upon by the executive committee then that would have been in order but for Higgs to attempt to justify it by saying you deserved it makes no sense. I have never known the 1st Congressional District Chair to have to come in and do the work of the party.

Now let me talk about what I know. You came here 1st to the Edgecombe County Human Relations Commission Forum which has nothing to do with the Democratic Party other than Dr. Glenda Knight is the chair and Rev. Higgs is a member. Information was being kept from folk who asked them for the public information as it related to precinct chairs/vice chairs and elected officials who had a vote. While they were contacting you nothing was even mentioned in the precinct packages about the Sheriff retiring and that the party would be meeting to vote on someone to be appointed.

There should not have been an expense on your behalf when we have 6 county officers not counting others on the executive committee who could have made sure the Sheriff Appointment was carried out properly if we didn’t have mess going on.

What this issue has done was justified that Higgs and his county officers have done absolutely nothing during their tenure.

I don’t apologize for questioning the issue at hand because there is a thing called policies and procedures so it is not about you and Higgs but about following the process. I refuse to allow the process to go unchallenged.

Yes Edgecombe County is in the system at the State thanks to you but if it had not been for the Sheriff appointment you would not have been called in and we would not be in the system. I understand we will receive $100.00 for having all of precincts organized. That was done only because of the Sheriff appointment but Higgs didn’t make that happen because I contacted someone to get with someone in Sharpsburg to get organized.

I will not allow mess to go unchallenged as it relates to Edgecombe County Politics and I have stated it time and time again.

Again thank you for your services however I hope this is a lesson learned because there are some folk who are not afraid to challenge leadership and we refuse to allow us to made to look like the victim for other folk ignorance. Trust me in the future I will question the fees for services provided to the county before the services are rendered.

I have never taken my focus off the newly appointed Sheriff nor anything as it relates to politics in Edgecombe County. I will continue to hold folk accountable for their actions and I ask folk to hold me accountable.

I will not be a victim as I have invested too much time offering my video services and it can’t get any more transparent than that. I have never been offered a penny nor have I ever asked for a penny. I have also been a resource in other areas as well.

Thank you my friend and I am focused. I am focused on it all.

Sincerely,

Curmilus Dancy II (Butch)

Dancy Communications Network

The DCN News Blog/Online TV

Videographer/Photographer/Reporter

Life Fully Paid Member NAACP/2nd Vice President
Edgecombe County Democratic Party Precinct Chair/County Executive Committee/State Executive Committee

(252) 314-5484

Blog: https://curmilus.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

