Edgecombe County Democratic Party I Expect The New County Officers And The Entire Executive Committee To Do Better


During the Edgecombe County Democratic Convention held today Rev. Roosevelt Higgs praised himself for all that he has done. I am yet to see what he has done other than to send out notices to have precinct meetings. The same for the County Convention and District Convention. Sir we had no Democratic Party Office in spite of having a presidential election and nor was there ever mention during the county convention meetings. This year will be the 1st year I will attend the district convention because I was written out of the 1st district into the 13th since it was created. How I am glad to be written back into the 1st because it made no damn sense that I live about 4 miles from Edgecombe Community College basically on the same road and on the day of the convention I would leave home driving in the direction of the college but turned off not quite a mile before the college to go all the way to the Nashville Courthouse for the 13th Congressional Convention.

Higgs attempted to call me out during he meeting saying that I didn’t know that he was taking care of his grandbaby while trying to prepare for the Sheriff Appointment. Yes I did know because his brother is my Precinct Vice Chair where I serve as Chair and he had told me Higgs was taking care of his grandbaby staying in Rocky Mount. But the problem with that is the secretary, the 3 vice chairs had roles to play and they didn’t for whatever reason because they had no information because Higgs had it all or they just didn’t do it. The Plan of Organization states the duties of the officers.

Atleast one Democrat Precinct Vice Chair Ernest Taylor praised Higgs for all that he has done but he didn’t mention one thing he did. Taylor called me during the time of the Sheriff appointment and wanted me to call a meeting inviting all of the precinct chairs to sit down and look at the qualifications of the candidates because he said that is what we needed to do. Well I had all of the candidates bios, know them and also attended and videoed both candidates forum so what was it that the precinct chairs needed.

Higgs talked about the work being done at the precinct level getting folk to the polls. What? Precincts don’t meet but once a year and that is because the leadership of the county party has not done anything to inform the precincts of what is going on politically because the county officers had not meetings. The precincts have no funds and it ain’t no way they can call or contact all the precinct members in their precinct. This should be done through the County Democratic Party having monthly or bi-monthly meetings like some other counties.

I challenge the new officers and the entire executive committee to become progressive by informing the Democrats of Edgecombe County by having more meetings and to become social media driven. I have challenged the county party during every meeting to get active in social media and it has not been done as of today.

Hell I ain’t mad with nobody, I have been holding folk accountable for their actions every since I became a precinct chair dating back to the late 80’s and serving on the county executive committee as 3rd vice chair in the early 90’s and serving on the executive committee at the present as a precinct chair. However I am mad as hell because I remember when I first began to attend the county conventions they used to be a knock down and drag out because the majority of the officers were white and also majority boards were white across the county. I came in and I was called a racist by some whites and militant by some blacks. I was about what was right and always stressed to black folk that times were different and we didn’t have to do ignant and/or illegal mess to earn our rights to fight for offices be it the county board and/or the local boards.

Over the years as the county executive committee has become a majority black there are a few whites who continue to attend but with the black leadership during some terms we have had a lot of mess. I don’t blame them for not coming now.

What tickles me is when some white folk call me a racist when I hold all folk accountable for their actions. I have been the Edgecombe County Democratic Party worst critic because I say what the others say behind closed doors but get to the meetings and act like everything is okay. Oh hell not we got a problem with the county party but hopefully today that will change. Congressman G.K. Butterfield expressed today in his message that when the votes come in from Edgecombe County and Halifax county because of the black vote statewide elections can be called. But just think about if we were a progressive county with strong leadership we could do a hell of a lot more.

The Democratic Women of Edgecombe County back in the day played a major role in Edgecombe County politics and they were a majority white. Today the after reviving the Democratic Women they are a make up of different races in the county and they have played a major role in educating the Democrats over the past 2 years.

I will continue to hold the Edgecombe County Democratic Party accountable for their actions or lack of and I don’t give a damn who gets mad. What I have found to be so funny is that a couple of folk have said to me to don’t let Higgs get you out of my character. He can’t do that because I know how to deal with him. One person even asked me could I sit down with Higgs and talk it out. Talk what out? They know me and they know Higgs. But I bet none of these folk have approached Higgs. And since they have not they and anyone else who do not have the balls to call him out, I don’t trust them. I am about the making sure the folk in Edgecombe County who are voting and doing things that affect me and all of the folk of Edgecombe County lives and livelihood so I am going to hold folk accountable no matter who like it.

Some black folk are some funny folk. They talk one thing and do another. One thing I have seen over the years they talk about getting young folk involved but when I was young and came on the scene they treated young folk as if they were nobody and drove them away. I refused to allow them to get the victory because I stayed on and dealt with them. And today at 54 years old when some young folk come out I try support them because I ain’t running for anything. I recognize and understand what my elders said but not lived up to, to get young folk involved so if I support a young person then maybe they can bring in more young folk.

I am sick and tired of black folk who say one thing and do another but don’t understand why young folk don’t get involved. Well you did it and continue to do it because you don’t lead by example.

Edgecombe County have survived politically by the Grace of God and not because of the leadership of the party over the past several years. I came to the conclusion that if black folk like it, then I love it but I ain’t gonna stop doing what I do.

I am Curmilus Dancy II Precinct Chair 11-1 I approve of this message and don’t need a 2nd.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

