Edgecombe County Sheriff Appointment The DCN News Blog Online TV Can Not Support Captain Richard Allen


I had heard Captain Richard Allen name floating around that he was interested in seeking the Sheriff Appointment. I rarely see Allen but I seen him at the Dr. Martin L. King Banquet in January but there was no communication.

Recently I received a message from a couple of folk talking about the Sheriff appointment and they said they didn’t want Allen because they felt he was too close to retiring. They also had nothing else to say about him.

Recently on my cousin’s facebook page he posted a photo of Allen during the Dr. King March saying that he should be our next Sheriff. I got into a heated conversation with a couple of folk on that post that think Allen should be appointed. I have not received a response to why those who responded on his page why he should be appointed but only to say because he has been at the Sheriff office for a long time. And?

As I listened to Allen during the Sheriff Forum on last Thursday he did not impress me at all.

I feel strongly that Edgecombe County need a young seasoned person who can relate to the young and the older folk.

So knowing what I know and after the forum on Thursday, The DCN News Blog Online TV endorses Cleveland (Clee) Atkinson.

Note: Click on the following links

Sheriff Forum Hosted By Edgecombe County Democratic Women Part 1

Sheriff Forum Hosted By Edgecombe County Democratic Women Part 2

Leave a Reply

