Open Letter To Edgecombe County Sheriff Deputies & Staff The Retirement Of Sheriff James Knight On To The Appointment


I have a voice and a vote as a precinct chair which make me a member of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee. If anyone would like to share your concerns/input with me I will be glad to address you individually, in a group via email/social media instant message or by phone. Feel free to contact me and if I miss your call I will respond in a timely fashion.

I am quite sure some of you have some concerns about whether you will have a job when the new Sheriff is in place. Well if you are doing your job then you should not have a problem. Since the deputies and staff works at the pleasure of the Sheriff then it does not matter who the next Sheriff will because he/she can choose who he/she wants to work with him or her.

When I endorse the person whom I am going to vote for I will hold him or her accountable for their actions. I will expect him or her to come in and not make change just for the sake of change but to thoroughly examine if and where changes need to be made. I will stand by the current deputies and staff from what I have seen, not from what I know on the inside because I know nothing about what goes on in the inside. I watch how the deputies and staff carry themselves when they are out in the public such as if they are friendly and are they professional in and out of uniform. I will support the deputies and staff if they should have some issues/concerns that can be shared with me.

What am I really trying to say? I will not support a candidate that will come in and just tear up the department just because they got the power without giving everyone a fair chance. However I will not know what personnel issues that may exist because that is confidential. So I will not just vote on a candidate and that be it, I will continue to monitor how he or she perform and therefore when the next election or appointment should arise, I will be able to be an informed voter.

Any deputy and/or staff member just like I am meeting with candidates seeking the appointment, I extend the opportunity to you for you to share with me your issues/concerns. Your issues/concerns will be confidential and your name will not be attached when I ask the candidates how they will respond to them.

I am suggesting that you come out to the Democratic Women of Edgecombe County Sheriff Forum on Thursday February 16, 2017 6:00 PM at the Edgecombe County Administration Building Auditorium so you can see and hear from the candidates.

Again if you have any issues/concerns, questions about the process and other I will be more than happy to assist you.

You can contact me at (252) 314-5484, emailto: cdancyii@embarqmail.com and/or message me on Facebook. I work a real job from 7:00 AM – 3:30 PM so leave me a message if you should call me in between those hours. I do have 2 breaks and a lunch so it is a possibility I will respond. 

Leave a Reply

