Edgecombe County Sheriff Candidate Cleveland (Clee) Atkinson Jr. Cover Letter Sent To Edgecombe County Democratic Party

The following is a candidate seeking the appointment for the Edgecombe County Sheriff Office to replace Sheriff James Knight who will officially retire on February 28, 2017. The office of Sheriff will become vacant on March 1, 2017 until the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee meet and vote on a candidate. The name voted on by the ECDP will be given to the Edgecombe County Commissioners and they will appoint the interim Sheriff until the 2018 elections.

 

Cleveland Atkinson, Jr.
145 S. Kirkwood Ave. * Rocky Mount NC 27801
M) 252.885.6467 * E)
cajr@embarqmail.com

 

January 30, 2017

Edgecombe County Democratic Party
P.O. Box 6774
Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27802

To whom it may concern:

I, Cleveland (Clee) Atkinson, Jr., announce my candidacy for sheriff of Edgecombe County. I believe I am the most qualified candidate for the office. I have more than 20 years in law enforcement and I am currently assigned to the Governor’s Security Detail for North Carolina’s own, Governor Roy Cooper. I have served Edgecombe County in a law enforcement capacity since February 1997, most notably as a member of the North Carolina State Highway Patrol.

As you will see from the attached biography, I have built my career in a variety of roles. Those roles have involved mentoring youth and law enforcement officers, logging countless volunteer hours with service organizations, in and around Edgecombe County, speaking to area churches, schools, and colleges on safety issues/concerns, and training and re-training thousands of law enforcement officers across North Carolina. In addition, over the past 20 years, I have earned many public safety certifications, advanced law enforcement training and management training. I am well aware of what it takes to multitask while remaining organized and efficient.

As Sheriff of Edgecombe County, my goal is to be one of high standards, professionalism and of good moral excellence. I will have an open door policy with my deputies and provide a listening ear to our citizens. I will continue to build trust in the Sheriff’s Office by being visible, active in the community, and by increasing the transparency of the Sheriff’s Office.

Last, but certainly not least; I want you to know that it is an honor for me to take this journey. I am passionate about becoming the future Sheriff of Edgecombe County and at the possibility of becoming part of the Edgecombe County team. I hope you will join me in strengthening our foundation and developing forward thinking strategies that will allow us to work hard and stay focused on serving our community to our fullest potential.

I ask that you, my fellow citizens of Edgecombe County, put your trust in me to be your next Sheriff. Your vote and support will be humbly appreciated.

God bless you and your families,

Mr. Cleveland Atkinson, Jr.

Note: The following photo from my Facebook Photo Albums. You can click on the photo to see a video of Clee speaking at Salem Chapel MBC several months ago.
image

All candidates can send their cover letter and any other information you would like to share to thedcn@embarqmail.com and I will post it on my blog which automatically goes to my Facebook, Twitter and Linkedln Social Media pages. I am a member of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party Executive Committee so I have a voice and a vote.

The DCN News Blog Online/TV has not endorsed any candidate yet but will do so after the Sheriff Forum on February 16, 2017

Folk Tickles The Hell Out Of Me Talking About They Are Democrats And They Voted For Donald Trump Because They Didn’t Want To Vote For Hillary Rodman Clinton

Folk tickles the hell out of me talking about they are Democrats and they voted for Donald Trump because they didn’t want to vote for Hillary Clinton. This is more funny when I read about white females making the statement.

For those who were mad that Clinton didn’t beat President Barack Obama it is my ignant opinion that they are mad because we had the 1st black President and they can’t get over it. It is funny as hell to me that for these Democrats continued madness because of Obama serving as President for 2 terms the only thing that makes these Democrats who happy is to vote for Trump. Now to me that is the too damn ignant but hell yeah that is their right and I am not mad with them. But for me I get 2 things out of all of this and that is these Democrats have a problem with a black man having been President and makes me wonder about them when it comes to blacks in any kind of authority. The 2nd thing is these Democrats are just Democrats for a particular reason but vote Republican anyway. I said that when I became actively engaged in the Democratic Party on the local, state and national level. Hell anyone who are familiar with Jesse Helms being Senator for years and NC has more Democrats that meant that Democrats voted for him but I have been in Democratic meetings and these white Democrats went out voted against their own party.

In Edgecombe County the local Democratic Party county officers/executive committee used to be a majority white. I remember going to the meetings since I became active in the late 80’s and every meeting was a fight. When the party became a majority black most whites stop coming to the meeting and some of those who continued was because they used the party to get elected as Democrats which became and entitlement with power and pay.

The NC State Democratic Party state officers/executive committee have been a mess since I began going to the meetings and being active on the executive committee since the early 90’s. I have seen the fight there with blacks seeking a balance at the table and as of today the state party still got issues. The state officers are still a majority white and the executive committee also. The division can be easily seen but nothing is being done about it.

I love reading comments from some folk who say they didn’t protest, set stuff on fire and other negatives because Hillary didn’t become President losing to Obama. Well I haven’t protested when I didn’t have any choice but to vote for a white President all of the 54 years of my life counting the years that I have been able to vote. Hell I have protested locally and statewide but peacefully. The HKonJ Moral March/Rally where I am a partner with the NC NAACP and nearly 100 other organizations and etc. will be held this Saturday February 11, 2017 in Raleigh NC Wake County at 10 AM. After the march I got to head over to Rolesville High School in Wake County for the NC Democratic State Party Executive Committee Meeting to vote on new officers and etc.

What tickles me is the majority of the folk who have a problem with politics have not been actively engaged on the local, state nor the national. That is okay but that is what makes them and I different because I am an active engaged black man with a voice and a vote.

I refuse to be silent on issues because I have been engaged. I have been actively engaged in politics since the late 80’s so when I see stuff that I feel like addressing I am going to do so. I will not be apologetic because I know politics. I know many, many of the elective officials locally, statewide and on the national. And for those whom I don’t, I have resources/contacts that know them so all I got to do is reach out to them.

I have 4,409 followers on my blog and 3,777 friends on Facebook. That is all well and fine however I don’t worry about what those numbers because I am going to continue to do what I do because it is my moral obligation.

Princeville had plan, but not action, to avoid another flood – WRAL

The Watch Dog response: This is very interesting. I feel that these types of studies need to be done in all areas affected by the floods such as in Pinetops as well. It is my belief that somebody knew that Princeville, Bynum Farm Road and other areas that flood should not had been zoned for housing anyway. But the owners of certain areas were allowed to get paid. The towns and the counties where these floods occur should be made to do something that will possibly eliminate the flooding or declare them not livable so the folk can move out of harms way.

Click on photo to watch Video

image