Hurricane Matthews: Princeville Fire Chief James Powell Lost His Wedding Band While Trying To Save A Female Whom Was Trapped In A Car


The Watch Dog response: Thank you Robin Williams Braswell for sharing this story. Chief Powell almost lost his life as well. Click on following link to hear Chief Powell tell history about what happened on October 8. Hurricane Matthews: Princeville NC Mayor Bobbie Darnell Jones Hold Town Meeting To Give Citizens Update

While working at the Edgecombe County Emergency Operations Center immediately following the devastating flooding of Hurricane Matthew, I had the distinct honor and privilege to meet the Princeville Fire Chief. If you followed the posts I made, I was in the midst of heroes and he was one of them. I later learned that although Chief Powell was spared his life during his selfless act to save another, his wedding band wasn’t as lucky. As time passed, this story kept speaking to my heart. Last Thursday night, I reached out to someone I’ve known for 26 years. I contacted Kenny Brewer and asked if he would consider letting me use my in store credit to help make a new ring happen for Chief Powell. I told him the story that the Chief had shared with me and also sent him the news videos that told his amazing story. Kenny would not use my credit to make this happen. He was so touched by the story that he allowed The Chief and his wife, Bonnie to come in and select a ring. The couple chose a Tungsten wedding band. The same metal that his original band was made from which does not scratch. Kenny allowed an inscription to be added which will be done by laser. The message Bonnie wanted to be displayed inside his band will read “Til Death Do Us Part”. We all got a kick out of that but she did not falter. We are all so very blessed to have this hero right here in Edgecombe County. This story makes my heart smile and I’m just so happy to have been a part of it. ❤️

Image may contain: 6 people , people smiling

Leave a Reply

