Tarboro woman struggles with coverage gap


image

Photo: When I was in the presence of my friend in March at Glorious Tabernacle. This is when I learned of her health issues. I had not heard from her in several years, we used to talk from time to time but I felt like something was going on since I had not heard from her.

Trapped in a health insurance coverage gap, a Tarboro woman decides between groceries and live-saving medicines every month.

Dr. Nancy Coltrain has two PhDs, one in theology and the other in counseling. She worked in the medical field caring for other people as a licensed nurse for decades and ran her own business for a time. A widow since 1993, she raised five children on her own.

She spoke about her situation while sitting at a large desk in her living room/counseling office. She wore a colorful dress and large sunglasses.

“I’m a member of society,” Coltrain said. “I contributed. If I could be out there working right now, I would. But they say I can’t work like this.” (Rocky Mount Telegram)

Leave a Reply

