Folk Need To Recognize That I Ain’t Your Typical Negro And Some Things I Will Not Change


You see I don’t understand why folk who have been in meetings with me since the late 80’s are in denial, don’t care or just simply ignant when it comes to who I am.

Who am I? I am just a nobody but I don’t play when it comes to family, job, politics and church. I turned 53 years old on Christmas Day and the older I get the less I can tolerate and will not tolerate.

I just don’t get it, grown educated folk get in meetings and question procedures and policies as if they don’t know what they are. If they don’t know what they are then they need to find out before they get to the meeting. I have no problems with folk asking legitimate questions but when I see questions that are irrelevant for that point and time, I will state my opinion. I believe in meetings starting on time and ending on time and staying with the purpose of the meeting.

I have no problem with folk asking legitimate questions but when I see questions that are irrelevant for that point and time especially when the questions are leading to trying to discredit folk in a sly fashion, I will state my opinion.

I challenge folk at home, on the job, in the community, in the church and wherever so no one is exempt. When I have a problem with folk and it is someone that I will continuously be in their presence, I say what I mean and mean what I say in their face and not behind their backs.

The meetings that I attend the folk in these meetings know me and and has known me for years. They know I am very attentive in meetings and have no problem with voicing my opinion making it clear that it is just my opinion. But this pisses some folk off because I am not agreeing with them or saying what they think I ought to be saying. When I was in meetings with my mother, I didn’t agree with my mother if I disagreed with her, it was about the organization and not us.

As it relate to me when folk stop being in denial, stop acting like they don’t know or don’t care, the better off they will be. I am going to continue to be me but recognizing and understanding it ain’t all about me. I know without a shadow of a doubt that I speak for other folks so although I say I am speaking for me Curmilus Dancy II, I also know I am speaking for some others.

Now Run & Tell That!

Leave a Reply

