Homegoing Celebration For Attorney Sheria Y. Reid Raleigh NC Formerly Of Wilson NC


My condolences goes out to the entire family of the late Attorney Sheria Y. Reid Raleigh NC.

Wow I missed the email message from the funeral home on Thursday and when I seen it on N Carnell Robinson Facebook Page today I was speechless. I had to go to Sheria’s Facebook Page to see if it was my friend.

I met Sheria back in the 90’s while attending meetings about Un-Fair Testing and other issues pertaining to the school system.

During Sheria’s time as the Director of The Education and Law Project at the NC Justice Center I received certificates of graduation for participating in the yearly (PESP) Parent Education Studies Program through the NC Justice and Community Development Center Education Leadership Institute at the Friday Center in Chapel Hill NC on June 14, 2002 and again on May 30, 2003 at the Holiday Inn Gateway Center in Rocky Mount NC.

Over the years I kept in touch with Sheria and when I found her on Facebook we have been very close because I love reading her post. She was a very professional and carrying person. Many times I sent her personal messages about issues and things I was dealing with here in Edgecombe County and she would take the time out to respond to me. What I loved about her was she was going to give you the straight up truth whether you liked it or not. Well that was no problem for me because that is the only way I want a friend to respond, if not then one is not a real friend. Wow! What am I going to do now?

The following song reminds me of Sheria.

Script.: Read Eccles. 3 and know, “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven”

Song: I Give Myself Away – William McDowell

The Obituary

More Obituaries

Note:

Rhonda Reid Moody posted this on Sheria Reid Facebook Page so if you are thinking about attending the celebration.
I have spent the past few days reading the most amazingly beautiful comments and tributes about Sheria’s life and her contributions to this world. Thank you to everyone who has shared their thoughts at this point and I look forward to more to come. We have finalized Sheria’s funeral arrangements and I hope many of you will be able to come to celebrate her wonderful life. The funeral will be at Haywood Funeral Home, 2415 S. Wilmington Street, Raleigh NC 27603 at 11:00AM on Thursday, July 9th. The Burial will be at Rest Haven Cemetary in Wilson, NC on Friday, July 10th. The time of the burial is not yet determined.

Leave a Reply

